Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

MTTC Preparation

Everything You Need to Know about the Michigan Test for Teacher Certification

MTTC Subject Area Examinations

To be eligible for an Interim Teaching Certificate, you must pass a Michigan Test for Teacher Certification (MTTC). Michigan Teachers of Tomorrow has compiled resources to help you with passing these exams and the information below is from our work with the Michigan Department of Education.

Note that the MTTC assessments are administered by Pearson, and the tests are paper-based. You must use your social security number with all MTTC exams in order to process your teacher certification paperwork. If you test in Michigan, all scores will automatically be sent to the Michigan Department of Education.

Certification Areas
teacher testing

MTTC Subject Areas

Our Program Advisors play an important role in helping you select the endorsement areas that complement your skills and interests.

Candidates for secondary certification must pass the MTTC subject area test for their desired subject area.

NOTE: Consider becoming qualified to teach more than one subject to increase your marketability with schools. You will not be able to add subjects after your Interim Teaching certificate has been issued.

Candidates for elementary certification must pass the Elementary Education Test. Candidates who want to teach specific subjects in grades 6 through 8 must also pass the corresponding MTTC subject area test.

MTTC Study Resources

Michigan Teachers of Tomorrow offers a comprehensive list of study resources, along with step-by-step instructions on how to register for the MTTC, by clicking the button below to visit our Testing Resources page.

Study Resources
Back to Top

Texas Teachers Exempt Countries

Texas Teachers currently recognizes these SBEC-approved countries:
  • American Samoa
  • Angulia
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Austrailia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Canada (except Quebec)
  • Dominica
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Gibraltar
  • Grand Cayman
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Jamaica
  • Liberia
  • Nigeria
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Trinidata/ Tobago
  • Turks and Calcos
  • United Kingdom
  • US Pacific Trust