Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Already Admitted

Your Next Steps to #GetHired

Congratulations on receiving your program admission offer to North Carolina Teachers of Tomorrow! You’re now on the path to becoming a teacher and making a real difference in the lives of your future students. If you are ready to #GetHired as a teacher, we’ll walk you through your next steps!

Step 1. Accept Admission Offer

You have almost finalized the admission process! Once you have received your North Carolina Teachers of Tomorrow program admission offer via email, you need to formally accept it to officially begin your teaching journey. To do this, simply locate the email in your inbox and follow the link provided.

Step 2. Submit Enrollment Fee

To finalize your admission process, the last step is to submit your one-time, low enrollment fee of $245. This is the only North Carolina Teachers Program fee you’ll ever submit until you’re working at a full-time teacher, earning full salary and benefits on your Residency License.* If you never teach, you never pay! 

*Please keep in mind that other fees outside of North Carolina Teachers will be required to obtain your license. 

We place our trust in the program, which is why after you enroll, you pay nothing. Only after you are working as a teacher earning full pay and benefits will you assume responsibility for the program fee – until then, leave it to us.

Step 3. Begin Training

Submitting your enrollment fee grants you access to everything you need to become eligible to teach. Once enrolled, you will gain immediate access to over 270 hours of online coursework, hosted on Canvas. Your online coursework, also known as your Classroom Readiness Training, is created by leading educators and is continually updated to ensure you receive the best possible teacher training. All training is 100% self-paced, so you never have to worry about deadlines. This is your program, so discover what works best for you.

Study Tips

Step 4. Become Eligible to Teach

North Carolina Teachers is committed to setting you up for success in the classroom. Along with your Classroom Readiness Training, you will need to complete the following requirements to become eligible to teach:

  • Pass Content Exams*. The North Carolina State Board of Education (NCSBE) requires all teacher candidates to pass two types of subject-specific licensure exams: Praxis II Testing and Pearson Testing. You must take the exam for the area in which you are seeking licensure, but you are welcome to take additional exams. We offer various study resources to help you prepare. NOTE: If you have 24+ hours of college credit in your desired licensure area, you may qualify to delay testing. Please speak with an advisor to confirm whether this may be applicable to you. 
  • Complete 30 Hours of Field-Based Experience (FBE)*. FBE hours are also known as classroom observation hours. Completing 30 FBE hours provides you the opportunity to experience authentic, real-world training. Your reflective observation hours will be carried out in a K-12 environment.

*For the 2020-2021 academic year only, candidates are NOT required to complete Pre-Service Training, prior to getting hired!

Learn More

Step 5. #GetHired

You are now ready to start looking for teaching positions and #GetHired. We recommend beginning your job search, as soon as you have enrolled and received your Form RL. We’ve compiled a list of job search resources to help.

Job Resources

Share the Good News!

Once you have received a job offer, let us know! In conjunction with your new school, we will submit a request through the NC Department of Instruction (NCDPI) to issue your Residency License. You will need to complete your NCDPI Residency License application, which will cost $100.

User Registration


Want More Info?
Back to Top

Texas Teachers Exempt Countries

Texas Teachers currently recognizes these SBEC-approved countries:
  • American Samoa
  • Angulia
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Austrailia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Canada (except Quebec)
  • Dominica
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Gibraltar
  • Grand Cayman
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Jamaica
  • Liberia
  • Nigeria
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Trinidata/ Tobago
  • Turks and Calcos
  • United Kingdom
  • US Pacific Trust