Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Clinical Teaching

The quickest route to get your Teacher Certification.

The 14-week Certification Option

The Clinical Teaching route is the quickest and most affordable method to earn your teacher certification in Texas. Our clinical teaching candidates are placed in a fully certified teacher’s classroom where they observe, assist, and eventually teach in a guided and structured program.

For more information, Click here and sign up for our FREE webinar.

Request More Information
study resources icon

Get a Free Clinical Teaching How-To Guide

Your Guide to Certification

become a teacher

Getting Started

The enrollment process is the same for both the internship route and clinical teaching.

Some important things to consider:

  • Clinical teaching is a full time unpaid student teaching assignment.
  • Acceptance into Clinical Teaching is not guaranteed.
  • Candidates must have FBE’s complete and demonstrate subject matter knowledge by passing a content exam prior to beginning the acceptance process.
get a teaching job

Placement Process

After becoming enrolled in the Texas Teachers program, there are a few additional steps that must be completed for consideration and admittance into the Clinical Teaching program for the Fall semester of 2020. The last official placement date for the Fall semester is August 26th, 2020.

Before Acceptance

  • Candidates must demonstrate subject matter knowledge by passing the state content exam(s) for the desired certification area.
  • Candidates will obtain 30 hours of field based experience by observing a certified teacher on a TEA-accredited campus.
  • Email to request access to take the Star Haberman Exam, a free online screening test that evaluates your teaching philosophy.
  • If the Star Haberman shows you are a good fit for clinical teaching, the clinical teaching coordinator will schedule a face-to-face interview with you.

After Acceptance

  • Texas Teachers works with the candidate’s preferred school districts to find a placement.
  • Clinical teachers are required to complete three training modules before a placement request will be sent.
  • Placement is not guaranteed, and once a placement is established, the internship route is no longer available to the candidate.
  • Once a placement is secured, the requirements during the 14 weeks are the same as the internship route.
get a teaching job

Start Teaching

You will learn alongside a fully certified and experienced teacher for 14 weeks.

  • The 14 week clinical teaching placement is an unpaid, full time assignment, throughout which candidates take on increasing responsibilities in the classroom.
  • Clinical teachers complete the same requirements as the internship route and have the full classroom support of their Field Supervisor.
  • Upon completion of the assignment and all program requirements, you will have earned your standard certificate!
Pricing for Certification

Pricing Options

Low-Cost CT Plan:

Pay the full balance at the start of the clinical teaching assignment and receive a $200 discount. Interest-free payments plan!

Standard CT Plan:

Make two equal payments that add up to the full program balance during the 14-week clinical assignment, with the first payment at the start and the second payment at the 7-week point

Want More Info?
Back to Top

Texas Teachers Exempt Countries

Texas Teachers currently recognizes these SBEC-approved countries:
  • American Samoa
  • Angulia
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Austrailia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Canada (except Quebec)
  • Dominica
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Gibraltar
  • Grand Cayman
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Jamaica
  • Liberia
  • Nigeria
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Trinidata/ Tobago
  • Turks and Calcos
  • United Kingdom
  • US Pacific Trust