Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Teacher Testing

We Provide Resources and Guidance for State Exams.

Test Selection & Approval

The Texas Education Agency requires each teacher candidate to pass a subject-specific certification exam. Our Program Advisors will play an important role in helping you select the certification area(s) that complement your skills and interests, and give you the best chance to get hired. When you pass a certification exam, you demonstrate Subject Matter Knowledge to teach within that subject area.

Beginning on September 1, 2018, TExES tests will be administered through Pearson. Click here for more details.

Certification Areas

Test Preparation

Texas Teachers also offers online exam preparation modules for most certification areas to help prepare for exams.

While preparing for an exam, be sure to familiarize yourself with the material, as well as format of the test. The Resources page provides information on where to find free preparation manuals, tests at-a-glance, test familiarization videos, and interactive practice tests.

Our Online Study Community is a forum where candidates share their study tips and test feedback.

Private test preparation companies are also abundant, providing study guides and in-person classes.

As of September 1, 2018, the majority of certification exams are computer-administered through a vendor, Pearson. Click here for more details.

Step-by-step guidance to registering for your necessary exams.

The Pedagogy and Professional
Responsibilities (PPR) Exam

All teachers in the state of Texas are required to pass the Pedagogy and Professional Responsibilities exam (PPR) to receive a standard certificate. Texas Teachers will give you access to the online PPR review coursework once you begin teaching on the intern certificate. Once you pass the review, Texas Teachers will approve you to register for the exam.

PPR Exam
Want More Info?
Back to Top

Texas Teachers Exempt Countries

Texas Teachers currently recognizes these SBEC-approved countries:
  • American Samoa
  • Angulia
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Austrailia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Canada (except Quebec)
  • Dominica
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Gibraltar
  • Grand Cayman
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Jamaica
  • Liberia
  • Nigeria
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Trinidata/ Tobago
  • Turks and Calcos
  • United Kingdom
  • US Pacific Trust