Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Florida Teacher Certification Examinations (FTCE)

Everything You Need to Know about the FTCE Exams

What Are the Required FTCE Exams?

The Florida Teacher Certification Examinations (FTCE) are required to evaluate a new teacher’s knowledge of their content area, and their skills as an educator (pedagogy). Depending on your qualifications, you may need to take a subject area test prior to issuance of your Temporary Certificate. You will need to pass the required General Knowledge Test (GKT) and the Professional Education Test (PEd) prior to issuance of your Professional Certificate.

Certification Areas
General Knowledge Test | GKT

The General Knowledge Test

Only 32% of those not in a program pass the GKT on the first try. Let us help you!

The new GKT format requires that you achieve a passing score on each section of the test. This means that it is no longer possible to “average out” an area that you are strong in with the area that you may be weaker in. The test costs $130 and $32.50 per section for retakes, so we strongly encourage you to be well-prepared!

Florida Teachers offers many resources to help you prepare for the GKT. The State Tests section of our Resources page contains all of the materials, webinars, and test prep discount deals that we offer to our candidates, plus an overview of what to expect on the test.

The Professional Education Test (PEd)

Florida’s Professional Education Test covers the skills required to be an effective teachers, or what is known as ‘pedagogy.’ These competencies include lesson planning, creating a student-centered learning environment, instructional delivery, assessment, developing literacy, professional conduct, and strategies for teaching English Language Learners (ELLs). Click the link below to learn more about the state-mandated tests.

Study Resources
Want More Info?
Back to Top

Texas Teachers Exempt Countries

Texas Teachers currently recognizes these SBEC-approved countries:
  • American Samoa
  • Angulia
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Austrailia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Canada (except Quebec)
  • Dominica
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Gibraltar
  • Grand Cayman
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Jamaica
  • Liberia
  • Nigeria
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Trinidata/ Tobago
  • Turks and Calcos
  • United Kingdom
  • US Pacific Trust