Choosing to become a teacher is a big decision, so we understand you probably have a couple of questions before you’re ready to jump in. We want you to feel as confident about our program as we do! If you’re currently exploring the North Carolina Teachers program, read this FAQ to find the answers you’re looking for! We value transparency, so if you have another question not answered on this page, feel free to submit a new question using the form at the bottom of the page. Happy program exploration.
North Carolina Teachers is the leading educator preparation program (EPP) in the state. Our program is state-accredited and nationally recognized. Unlike other EPPs in the state, we have the unique ability to help teachers earn their licensure across the entire state.
North Carolina Teachers is fully state-accredited and trusted by teachers and successful teachers alike. After completing our program, you are eligible to teach anywhere in the state of North Carolina.
While most candidates complete the online training in 1-3 months, the length of the program is up to you! Our online training is 100% self-paced! With our program, you’ll never have to worry about missing a due date or deadline. Find the balance that works with your schedule!
Upon successful completion of program requirements, you are issued a Residency License for your Residency Year. Once you complete all of your program requirements and successfully complete one year of full-time teaching on a Residency License, you will be recommended for either the Initial (0-2 years’ teaching experience) or Continuing (3+ years’ teaching experience) Professional License depending on how many years of teaching experience you have.
Yes! During your Residency Year, you receive full pay and benefits from your school district while employed as the teacher of record.
Many states reciprocate North Carolina teaching licensure, although requirements vary from state to state. To determine the reciprocation policies and procedures, please contact the state’s department of education.
No, you do not need classroom experience. Our program is designed for all types of candidates, including those who have not yet taught in a classroom. You will complete classroom observations as part of the program before you actually begin teaching. We do also recommend completing some classroom experience (volunteer or tutor) to increase your marketability when applying for teaching positions.
Great question! We offer a free monthly Program Overview Webinar which is designed to walk you through the entire program and answer all your questions. Click the button below to register.
Program Overview Webinar
We offer a variety of different licensure areas so you can pursue an area that best aligns with your skills and abilities! To explore the list, visit our Testing page.
Yes, absolutely! To increase your marketability and give yourself the best chance of getting hired quickly, we recommend pursuing a High-Need Subject Area. We help license teachers in eight areas on the 2020-2021 High-Need Area list. To learn more about which areas are on this year’s list and the benefits of pursuing a High-Need Licensure Area, read our High-Need Areas 101 Guide.
To apply to our program, it is required that you have a 2.7+ overall GPA and a 4-year bachelor’s degree.
Unfortunately, no. It is required by the North Carolina Department of Instruction that you have a minimum GPA of 2.7 to be admitted.
Unfortunately, no. It is required by the North Carolina Department of Education that all candidates pursuing teacher licensure through an educator preparation program must have a 4-year bachelor’s degree.
You should apply as soon as you complete your degree!
No, you do not have to be a U.S. citizen to apply to our program, but you may have additional program requirements to be admitted and you must meet all requirements to legally work in the U.S.
You can apply to North Carolina Teachers online! Submitting an application form is always free, requires zero commitment, and takes less than one minute to complete. Apply for free here.
You can apply now! We have rolling admissions throughout the year. As soon as you are offered admission, you may enroll and gain immediate access to your online teacher training. School districts hire teachers year-round, so there are always open positions whenever you become eligible to get hired.
No, you are not required to complete a background check for program admission. However, your Local Education Agency (LEA) may eventually require you to complete a criminal history and background check when applying for employment.
There are no documents required to fill out our free application! Once you apply, you will then need to send a copy of your official university transcripts.
You will receive an email from us confirming that your application has been received.
After submitting your application, your first step is to send official bachelor’s degree transcripts.
After submitting your application, you will complete an online questionnaire to assess your strengths as a teacher. After your official transcripts have been processed and you have completed the online questionnaire, we will send you an official Program Admission offer via email, if you have successfully met all program admission requirements.
Once all program admission requirements have been completed and we have processed your transcripts, you will receive your official Program Admission offer via email within 3 to 5 business days.
The only fee you’ll need to pay to get started is the enrollment fee, which is currently discounted to $295. After you submit your enrollment fee, you will gain immediate access to your online teacher training. You are only ever responsible for the remaining program balance once you are hired as a teacher with a full salary and full benefits.
If at any point, you choose to abandon the program before getting hired, you are not responsible for the remaining program balance.
The total cost of the program is $4,895. You only pay the $295 enrollment fee to get started. This one-time fee grants you access to your online training and all the resources you need to get hired as a teacher. The remaining balance of $4,600 is only due once you are hired as a teacher. It is then paid back throughout your Residency Year of teaching.
You should pay the enrollment fee when you’re ready to pursue your dream of becoming a teacher! Once you are admitted, you can set up your Intern Portal login and pay your enrollment fee of $295. You will need to pay your enrollment fee to get started on your training.
The remaining balance of $4,600 is not due until you are hired as a full-time teacher. It is then paid back throughout that first year of teaching, usually through payroll deductions over a ten-month period.
No, the program balance is always interest-free.
We, unfortunately, do not offer any payment plans at this time. You are only required to pay the one-time, low enrollment fee of $295 to get started.
North Carolina Teachers is not an institute of higher learning, so is therefore not eligible for financial aid. Your program balance is only due once you are earning a full-time teacher salary. If you never teach, you never pay.
Residency License | $100
Praxis II Exams | $120.00 – $170
Pearson Foundations of Reading Exam | $139
Pearson General Curriculum tests: | $94 – $139
Test Prep (Optional) | $10 – $150
All COVID-19 Updates can be found on our webpage, under our Resources tab. Learn more.
We frequently post new, relevant articles, share resources, and keep you informed about all things teaching on our Teaching in North Carolina blog!