Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

North Carolina Teacher Testing Requirements

Everything You Need to Know about the North Carolina Licensing Exams

NCSBE Licensure Testing Requirements

You will eventually be required to pass the North Carolina State Board of Education (NCSBE) approved licensure exam(s). There are two types of subject-specific licensure exams used for testing requirements in North Carolina: Praxis II Testing and Pearson Testing. You must take the specific content area test in the subject area in which you are seeking licensure. You may take additional content area tests to meet federal highly qualified status. This is highly recommended as it increases your marketability as a candidate for a teaching position.



Due to COVID-19 allowances, you are NOT currently required to pass your state licensure exam before getting hired, only for the 2020-2021 academic year. Once enrolled with North Carolina Teachers, you may be approved for a Residency License. To renew the Residency License for the 2021-2022 academic year, you must meet either the 24-hour relevant content or the licensure examination.


Residency License Requirements

Our Program Advisors play an important role in helping you select the licensure area that complements your skills and interests.

To apply for the initial Residency License to teach Elementary Education (K-6), candidates will take the following exams:

  • Pearson Test 090 – Foundations of Reading
  • Pearson Test 103 – Multi-subjects Subtest
  • Pearson Test 203 – Mathematics Subtest
  • Pearson General Curriculum Multi-subjects & Math subtests taken in one test session #701

For Exceptional Children: General Curriculum (K-12), the required exams are the same as above, with the additional Core Knowledge Test – Praxis II (5543).

To apply for the initial Residency License to teach Middle Grades (6-9), candidates will take the North Carolina Praxis exam for their subject area:

  • Language Arts – 5047
  • Mathematics – 5169
  • Science – 5440
  • Social Studies – 5089

To apply for the initial Residency License to teach Secondary Education (9-12), candidates will take the North Carolina Praxis exam for their subject area:

  • English – 5038 & 5624
  • Mathematics – 5161 & 5624
  • Science – 5435 & 5624
  • Social Studies – 5081 & 5624

Taking the Exams

Note that North Carolina works with two different testing vendors, ETS and Pearson, for the North Carolina licensure exam requirements and the tests are computer based – not paper and pencil. You must use your social security number with all exams in order to process your teacher licensure paperwork. If you test in North Carolina, all scores will automatically be sent to the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. Be sure to visit the State Tests page of the Resource Center for more information on testing and step by step instructions on how to register.

Test Registration
Want More Info?
Back to Top

Texas Teachers Exempt Countries

Texas Teachers currently recognizes these SBEC-approved countries:
  • American Samoa
  • Angulia
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Austrailia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Canada (except Quebec)
  • Dominica
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Gibraltar
  • Grand Cayman
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Jamaica
  • Liberia
  • Nigeria
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Trinidata/ Tobago
  • Turks and Calcos
  • United Kingdom
  • US Pacific Trust