Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

In observance of Thanksgiving, our offices will be closed from Wednesday, November 25 through Friday, November 27. We will resume normal business hours on Monday, November 30.

Frequently Asked Questions

Get the Answers Here!


Do you have questions about becoming a licensed teacher in North Carolina? We’re here to help! Please read our FAQ below; if you don’t see your answer, please send an email to Teach@NorthCarolinaTeachers.org.

All you have to pay to get started is $245! This up-front cost gives you immediate access to your online training and all the resources you need to get started! The remaining balance of $4,650 is due once you are hired, and is completely contingent upon you getting hired! Please note that this cost includes edTPA cost, for which we provide waivers.


There has never been a better time than now to get started! Due to COVID-19 allowances, once enrolled, you are immediately eligible for hire! Act fast and take advantage of these great benefits.

You can get started now! We have rolling admissions throughout the year. Please see our admission guidelines for more information.

If at any point during the program (prior to teaching), you decide the profession is not for you, the remaining program fee balance is never due. The program fee is entirely contingent upon getting hired and going onto a Residency License. If you never teach, you never pay.

You are eligible to begin looking for a teaching position as soon as you are admitted!*

*For the 2020-2021 school year only, you are NOT required to complete your online Classroom Readiness Training and Field-Based Experiences hours before getting hired NOR pass any state exams. It is now possible to enroll and get hired in record time! 

Once you have been hired, you will submit the “I Got a Job” form and your employing school system will submit a request to the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction (NCDPI) for the Residency License to be issued to you. Once you have completed the application and paid the application fee, you will receive your Residency License to begin teaching!

There are two options to send us your official university transcripts. The quickest and most reliable method is for your university to send official transcripts electronically to transcripts@northcarolinateachers.org. If your university does not have this as an option, you can mail official transcripts to our office at:

North Carolina Teachers of Tomorrow
2401 Fountain View Dr., Suite 700
Houston, TX 77057

The length of the program is up to you, as our program is 100% self-paced! Normally, our program takes most candidates an average of 2-3 months. This being said, the current time to complete the program should be significantly shorter, because for the 2020-2021 school year, you will be issued your Form RL (what you need to get hired), as soon are you are enrolled in the program. Due to COVID-19 allowances, you are temporarily NOT required to complete your Pre-Service Training before getting hired NOR pass your state exam. You will ultimately need to teach one full year on a Residency License. Once you’re admitted and have submitted the proper documents, you may begin looking for your new career!

Licensure varies state to state, so contact each state’s department of education that you are looking to move to so you can verify the reciprocation process.

A Residency License is issued for one year and is renewable twice at the recommendation of an employing North Carolina school system. An Initial Professional License is non-renewable and intended for teachers with 0-2 years of teaching experience, and is valid for 3 years. A Continuing Professional License is intended for teachers with 3 or more years of teaching experience and is valid for 5 years. Once you complete all of your program requirements and successfully complete one year of full-time teaching on a Residency License, you will be recommended for either the Initial or Continuing Professional License depending on how many years of teaching experience you have.

Field-Based Experience Hours are introductory experiences involving reflective observation of EC-12 students, teachers, and faculty/staff members engaging in educational activities in a school setting. Thirty hours of FBEs are required, either in-person or online through our Canvas training system. Please note that completing your 30 Field-Based Experience Hours is NOT currently required before getting hired for the 2020-2021 school year!

No, you do not need classroom experience. Our program is designed for all types of candidates, including those who have never stepped foot inside a classroom.

Local Education Agencies (LEAs) may require criminal history checks on applicants for employment. Contact the LEA for more information regarding the criminal history and background check requirements and procedures.

The only fee to get started is a one-time, low payment of $245. This will grant you access to everything you need to begin! The remaining program fee balance of $4,700 is only due once you are hired as a full-time teacher, earning full pay and full benefits. If you opt-out of the program before you begin teaching, you are not responsible for paying the remaining program fee balance. Once you begin teaching, the remaining program fee balance will be paid back during your first year of teaching over a twelve-month period.

There are some additional costs to getting licensed that are not included in the program and are not payable to North Carolina Teachers of Tomorrow. These estimated costs are those established by entities other than North Carolina Teachers of Tomorrow, and generally include the following:

Licensure fees payable to the North Carolina Department of Instruction:

  • Initial Alternative License (Residency License) fee: $100.00
  • Clearing an Alternative License Fee: $60.00

*Additional licensure fees may apply. Please visit http://www.ncpublicschools.org/licensure/forms/ for more information

Exam fees payable to state testing service:

  • Praxis II Subject Assessments: Fees may vary between $120.00 – $170.00
  • Pearson Foundations of Reading test: $139.00
  • Pearson General Curriculum tests: Both Subtests in a single appointment: $139/ Multi-Subject Subtest only: $94/ Mathematics Subtest only: $94

The best way to get in touch with us is through email! You can reach us at: Teach@NorthCarolinaTeachers.org

Yes! During your Residency Year, you are paid as a full-time teacher of record with benefits.

You must meet all legal requirements to work in the United States.

Our most recent North Carolina Teachers Virtual Teacher Job Fairs was held on June 24th and was a huge success! Keep an eye out for our next Virtual Teacher Job to network with schools and hiring professionals! In the meantime, check out our #GetHired webpage, full of advice and resources to help your find your dream teaching job!

Yes! We offer full program scholarships to individuals who are not yet enrolled in the program. Our scholarship period opens on October 1st. Visit our Scholarship Homepage to view available scholarships and learn how to qualify.

Get on the Right Path to Earning
Your Teaching License in North Carolina


Let Us Help You Become a Fully Licensed Teacher!

Get Started
Want More Info?
Back to Top
X

Texas Teachers Exempt Countries

Texas Teachers currently recognizes these SBEC-approved countries:
  • American Samoa
  • Angulia
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Austrailia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Canada (except Quebec)
  • Dominica
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Gibraltar
  • Grand Cayman
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Jamaica
  • Liberia
  • Nigeria
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Trinidata/ Tobago
  • Turks and Calcos
  • United Kingdom
  • US Pacific Trust