Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Praxis Testing

Everything You Need to Know about the South Carolina Praxis Exams

South Carolina Teacher Certification Testing

We provide guidance and resources to help you prepare for the South Carolina state teaching exams. Upon admission to the program, you will need to pass the applicable Praxis II Subject Area exam(s) that corresponds to the subject area you are pursuing. The subject area exam must be passed before you can begin seeking employment as a teacher. Once in the classroom, you will need to pass the Praxis II Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT).

certification areas
teacher testing

Praxis II Subject Assessments

Our Program Advisors play an important role in helping you select the certification area that complement your skills and interests.

Visit our State Tests page for links to all of the tests that correspond to the subject areas that are offered by South Carolina Teachers. You may also find information about the tests by visiting the ETS Praxis website.

South Carolina Teachers offers links to free study resources, as well as the leading professional resources, on our State Tests page. All tests are administered by ETS. Test Dates and Centers can be found by visiting the ETS Praxis website.

Praxis II Principles of Learning and Teaching

Teachers seeking certification in Secondary areas and Special Education required to pass the South Carolina Praxis II Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT) to receive a Professional Certificate. You can take the exam before you begin teaching, but most wait until they have been in the classroom teaching, as the test is focused on the application of pedagogy in the classroom. The test you take depends on the instructional certificate you are working towards and grade level you are teaching.

Study Resources
Want More Info?
Back to Top

Texas Teachers Exempt Countries

Texas Teachers currently recognizes these SBEC-approved countries:
  • American Samoa
  • Angulia
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Austrailia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Canada (except Quebec)
  • Dominica
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Gibraltar
  • Grand Cayman
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Jamaica
  • Liberia
  • Nigeria
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Trinidata/ Tobago
  • Turks and Calcos
  • United Kingdom
  • US Pacific Trust