Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Texas Teachers New Minimum Salary

March 15, 2021

Texas Teachers New Minimum Salary Starts
At $70,000

It’s true! A new bill introduced in the Texas legislature aims to raise the minimum salary for all Texas teachers. Texas bill would raise minimum teacher salary to $70,000 for all Texas teachers.

The bill, if made into law, would set a new standard for Texas and hopefully other states. This change would increase the average teacher salary base by $13,000 reported by the Texas Education Agency for the 2019-2020 school year. This new Texas teacher salary would be about $8,000 more of the national average based on National Center for Education Statistics for teachers in the 2018 – 2019 school year.

Rep. Talarico layout reasoning for the bill in a series of social media posts:

“When I was a public school teacher, I struggled to make ends meet. My coworkers drove Ubers at night and sold their blood plasma for extra money. Today I filed a bill mandating a minimum salary of $70,000 for every teacher in Texas.”

“Our teachers have endured a global pandemic, an economic collapse, and a deadly winter storm. They held our communities together through these historic crises. Teachers had our backs. Now we must have theirs.”

Rep. Talarico stated that he chose $70,000 because “Research indicates a $70,000 – $75,000 salary is the baseline income needed for emotional well-being.”

The time to become a teacher is now before all the open teacher positions fill up! Learn more about preparing to become a teacher by August by applying for free! It’s affordable, self-paced, and 100% online!




Up Next

8 Reasons Why You Should Attend Our Virtual Job Fair

March 15, 2021 by jeffmysak

Back to Top

Texas Teachers Exempt Countries

Texas Teachers currently recognizes these SBEC-approved countries:
  • American Samoa
  • Angulia
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Austrailia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Canada (except Quebec)
  • Dominica
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Gibraltar
  • Grand Cayman
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Jamaica
  • Liberia
  • Nigeria
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Trinidata/ Tobago
  • Turks and Calcos
  • United Kingdom
  • US Pacific Trust